Whose Life Is It?

I was reading some random stuff and I came across a discussion where some netizens were discussing legality of suicide. What amazed me most was how can one single thing be said in so many different ways!! Apart from that I could safely say, most of such discussions on random pages are nothing but a pure waste of time!!

Nevertheless, the one thing which everyone kept saying and meaning was: ‘One’s life does not belong to the individual alone’. It belongs to all the people in his circle, the people who love him, who spend time with him, and are impacted by his presence! Doesn’t that sound logical? I bet that’s what anyone would say when the subject is about ending a life!

However, why does this thought take a U-turn when a person chooses life? Confused? Let me help you here. ‘Its your life, and you do whatever you want to!’ Is it relatable now? And it doesn’t just stop there, it goes on ‘No one has the right to tell you what to do or what not to do!’

So, now I am confused, Is it just the person’s life and he can do anything with it? OR the person’s life doesn’t belong to him alone!?

I don’t know if it’s just a fashion trend which has picked up in last 15-20 years maybe after Bon Jovi’s ‘It’s My Life’ (I love that song!), or it’s a thought which existed earlier as well and I didn’t know about it. But off late I can hear every other person say ‘It’s my life, I can do whatever I want, I can live anyway I want!’

Yes, a person should follow his dreams…his ambition, but aren’t we a society for some reason? Why is it wrong if someone tries to influence your life or your way of living? Ofcourse we can’t listen to anyone and everyone, but what’s this whole idea of being the Lone Wolf and listening to no one!?

Frankly, I don’t see any wrong in doing things even if I don’t believe in them, but someone who matters, believes in them! Afterall, I believe that my life doesn’t belong to me alone!

For me, its not a discussion, wherein I am open to suggestions, but a debate, where I have already picked my side! Which side will you pick?

(Image Credit: https://sciworthy.com/a-new-way-to-detect-et-life-using-chemical-profiles/)

Leave a comment